September 26, 2010

  • I had work to do yesterday, but I didn't do it. This meant I had to get up very early this morning to make up for it, but  it also meant that I had a nice, lazy day yesterday.

    The vignette here shows you how I spent my day.

    I used the instructions from Stitch 'N Bitch Crochet: The Happy Hooker to make a couple of necklaces. I believe that I still have the special Crazy Aunt Purl device that keeps anyone from seeing her own Christmas presents on my blog, so I can show them without concern.

    The idea is simple: you thread beads on thin jeweler's wire and then you crochet a chain. The result is a pretty, airy necklace. By varying your choice of beads and the number of chains between them, you can get a wide range of effects, and it's only the slightest bit more complicated than stringing beads. 

    I also did plenty of reading, watched football with my husband (sort of -- at least I looked up and commiserated with him when the team had problems), and also spent a little time with WiiFit and with Numb3rs. They tidied everything up and dispersed the actors, so I guess there won't be any more episodes. I'm sorry about that; I really like that show. I also knitted up the first skein of Telemark for #2 son's Christmas sweater. It's in the pictures, but it's a rectangle of deepest blue, so it's not interesting to look at.

    I can't claim that I did a whole lot of housework, but I cleaned the refrigerator, changed the sheets, and did the grocery shopping,  so it definitely would have been possible for me to do less.

    It's Master Bath week at the HGP, by the way, and here's your list of stuff to do along with cleaning the master bath:

    • Make one batch of Holiday Goodies.
    • Make one extra meal for freezer again labeled HOLIDAY MEAL.
    • Buy two canned food items from menus (get 2 of each item, one to use and one to donate to food drive).
    • Buy 1/8th of TO BUY gifts. Save all receipts, note return policy before buying. Ask for gift boxes
    • Wrap and label packages. If needing to ship, get some shipping boxes now and store packages in them.
    • Work at least 1 hour a day on homemade gifts.
    • Take toys and books that are outgrown, clean them up and prepare them for donation to toy drives.
    • Make list of toys and books that children would enjoy and that would fit in their rooms and that would work with what they have. Keep it hand for telling family what they would like.
    • Inventory clothing and have another list of clothing items needed. Measure the children and put measurements on this list.

    I haven't put anything into the freezer, I have to admit, but I've caught up on my present making and I've been keeping up on the shopping parts.

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories