January 31, 2005

  • Completed dull socks for the last day of Sockuary. (Impressionist snap with toy camera.)


    But wait — tomorrow could also be the first day of Sockuary!


    These socks may be dull, but they are very nice and cozy as well, and I have a lot of this yarn in several colors, so I may just keep going.



     


    I am trying out some of the traditional Fair Isle patterns from the Traditional Fair Isle Knitting book. This is how they recommend making a swatch, but if I add a heel, it will be a sock.


    I had intended to continue with my scientific sampling of churches yesterday, moving on to the Episcopalians, but I am enjoying time with #1 daughter instead. I made a traditional Basque cake, except with nectarines instead of cherries, and was able to do a good amount of sock knitting while we talked about local politics, dogs, decorating, and family members.


    Not that I skipped church. I went to the early service at my own church and sang “Rest in the Lord,” another of Mendelssohn’s greatest hits. The organist did not turn a hair when I showed up with my music 30 minutes before the service.


    #1 daughter and Son-in-Law will be going up to visit #2 daughter soon. They are hoping to have their assorted siblings to visit them in The Frozen North as well — waiting until summer, of course.  

Comments (7)

  • I hope to go meet them, but – as we’ve already discussed – I have to gather money for England/Scotland as well. bah. I’ll just get a couple of jobs. Sound good?

  • RYC: I thought cheaper clothing is smaller because they skimp on the material. That’s how it was always explained to me. ??? The more expensive clothing is truer to size, so I’ve been told. Regardless, I need to lose some poundage.

  • Ooh. Love the Fair Isle!

  • We can’t have 2 Sockuarys in a row!

    Must be Februsocky.

  • I love the fair isle :) :)

  • I’m enjoying reading about the socks.  They look warm and the fairisle looks nice too.  My sock is coming along.  It’s in a k4 p4 ribbing that you move over a stitch every 4 rounds to give it a spiraling effect.  As I was reading the pattern for these socks I think they will be clear up to my knee since it says to work for 17 inches ( for my size) then commence to makin a toe shaping.  LOL.  I like how the kool-aid yarn is looking.  Although I may not have enough yarn for two so I may end up with one sock orange and yellow and the other purplish (another kool-aid dyed batch).  LOL.  So lesson learned try to make sure you have enough yarn for a pair of socks especially if you want them to match. 

  • For pity’s sake, what’s with the sudden surge in Xanga-spam?
    I’m starting to get sock envy…I think I’m going to have to buy some of the new Knitpicks sock yarn and give it a shot, now that you’ve made sock-knitting seem less scary.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *