February 19, 2012

  • Some knitting took place yesterday, along with errands and reading, Wii, housework, and cooking (see below).

    #1 daughter came over to get most of the rest of her stuff taken over to her new place. We had California Club sandwiches, which you may know means turkey with tomato, bacon, and avocado, often on a croissant or whole wheat roll. When I was a little girl, my grandmother used to take us out for lunch and order Club Sandwiches.

    Club Sandwiches involve chicken or turkey with bacon and tomato on toast, often using three slices of toast for one sandwich. My grandmother and my mother invariably had a little discussion before going to lunch. My grandmother would insist that we should have “a nice lunch” and my mother would assure her that “the kids would rather go to Orange Julius.” This discussion was repeated every single time we went to lunch, I think.

    Lunch was invariably part of a trip to the shopping mall, where my grandmother would look for shoes that would precisely match her latest hand knitted Chanel-style suit. Naturally, since I grew up in a family in which people hardly wore shoes, let alone shoes chosen to match one’s suit, I considered my grandmother a very chic woman, and I have ordered Club Sandwiches in situations in which I wanted to seem like one of those. Avocado makes any sandwich better, though, and is much more wholesome than mayonnaise, so nowadays I go with that instead.

    Club Sandwiches were supposedly developed at the famous Saratoga Club (whence comes the potato chip) in the late 1890s, in case you were wondering.

    So #1 daughter and I had California Club sandwiches and talked about work. In the evening, I made Whole Wheat Happy Rolls, Chicken with Meyer Lemon Sauce, carrots roasted with herbs, and high-protein egg noodles. #1 son came over for dinner and we watched How to Murder Your Wife, a classic movie in which there is a courtroom speech arguing that any man would murder his wife if he could, so a man who does so should not be punished.

    #1 son and I had, the previous evening, been discussing those classic problem questions in which you flip a switch to divert a train knowing that you will kill one person by doing so — but also that you will save 75 people (most people will do this) or throw one person onto the train tracks in order to divert the train and prevent the death of 75 (most people won’t). The movie involves one of those questions, in a way, but I think that such overt misogyny would keep the movie from being made now. In any case, we enjoyed the movie and the reprise of the previous conversation, and also the meal.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *