December 29, 2008

  • My favorite songs for the period between Christmas Day and Epiphany are those that tell of the journey of the Magi through Provence. Just as we in the English-speaking world have songs about the Baby Jesus lying in the snow, the French-speaking world has songs about the Three Kings’ triumphal procession through France, with all the townfolk joining them as they went.

    “The March of the Three Kings” and “Tous Les Bourgeois de Chartres” are two examples of these. Here are the English words for “March,” but I’ve been unable to find a good source for the other song in English. You can sing these on your way back to work, if that’s what you’re doing.

    That’s what I’m doing.

    But first, the FOs of the year 2008:

    12

    Tailored lace shawl, of Knitpicks Shadow in Redwood; no pattern.

    12

    Jean Greenhowe’s elephant, of scrap yarn.

    11

    Kwik-Sew shirt of Pendleton wool

    10

    Alice Starmore’s Erin, with lots of adaptations and alterations, of Wool of the Andes.

    10

    Skirt of Pendleton wool.

    9

    Soap. Yeah, this is cheating, but I didn’t have many FOs this year.

    9

    Scarf of Touch Me; no pattern.

    9

    Headhand. See previous excuse. No pattern.

    8

    Butterick blouse. I hemmed it after I took this picture.

    8

    Jewelry made from beads.

    7

    Rosie the Riveter shirt from Folkmanis pattern. I’ve heard all about why not to wear tropical prints, thanks.

    7

    6

    6

    5

    Detail of some of the jewelry.

    4

    Table runner from fabrics bought from Keepsake Quilting. No pattern.

    4

    Soldered charms jewelry.

    4

    More soap. See previous excuse.

    3

    Prayer shawl from Homestead.

     

Comments (4)

  • So many beautiful things! Thanks for posting the photos.

  • If tropical prints make you happy, wear them. That’s what I say.

  • Where did you get the instructions/materials to make the soap? I made some soap in my Organic Chem class but I’d like to make it on my own too.

  • @JewelE19 - 

    I get my soap stuff from Brambleberry.com, though there are lots of other places. I’ve made soap from scratch, but it was a long boring process, so now I use the melt-and-pour — all the chemistry and the tedious bits are done for you. Kind of like cake mix. Brambleberry has the stuff for the chemistry-laden kind as well.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *