April 29, 2008

  • Since I am halfway finished with the sleeves of Erin, I have naturally begun to think about what I might knit next.

    Not that it will be any time in the next few days that I finish Erin. I have the sleeves to do, and there is actually a bit of the back left, for complex reasons that made perfect sense at the time, and then I have to sew things together and there are the button bands and the finishing. It will probably be the end of May before I finish it.

    It is not to soon to start thinking about what I will make next, though. I enjoy ruminating on these things.

    I have a large quantity of laceweight yarn which I had intended to use for a cardigan from Lacy Little Knits, but which turned out to be way too lightweight for the pattern. So last night -- after a frolicsome day of taking inventory -- I surfed around the knitting blogs looking for things people were making from laceweight yarn.

    Shawls, that's what. And not very many of those. When some preliminary looking around turned up nothing, I went ahead and did a Google blog search and then went to Ravelry, and you can indeed find a few shawls around. Mostly, however, people who are writing about laceweight yarn -- and there are lots of them -- are just writing about the yarn. They are spinning it, selling it, buying it, and admiring it. They are not knitting with it. I'm not sure what to conclude from this.

    I also have some Telemark wool, probably enough for a sweater, though June is not exactly prime time to start another wool sweater.

    And I have some cotton, though not enough for a sweater.

    I am not feeling very inspired, and my visit to the blogs didn't inspire me, either. However, I should have time to think about it today. I may have to go back up and do inventory some more today. I have some jobs to apply for, and plan to put my name on the sub list for the local school district. But if I am not doing inventory, I will be going to the gym and cleaning house. Either way, I should have time to contemplate shawls.

Comments (12)

  • I can't remember where I saw it but there is a knitter out there that makes shawls out of old dollie patterns.  She increases the gauge of the needles and they are just beautiful.

  • Are you on Ravelry? I'm lostarts on Ravelry. How can I find you.

    Did you look in the groups? There must be a group (at least) for lace knitting.

    I'm almost through with my Shetland lace shawl. As lace goes, it's an easy knit. I think you'd enjoy it if you want to do something lacy.

  • what do people actually make with lace-weight, besides shawls, that is?  airy delicate shawls are very pretty, if rather less useful than a sweater.  also, can i send you $$ via paypal?

  • @princess_smartypants - 

    @princess_smartypants - 

    You can, I know, because I do get paid that way by MyZip, though I don't know how it's done. Have you gotten the Letter of Agreement? As you know, I'm a tyro at these contractual things, but I am trying to start out correctly. if you'd like to send the fee to me via PayPal, that's fine. If you already know how, go ahead. Otherwise, I'll find out how it's done and let you know.
    Your Analytics code isn't up yet, BTW.

  • @princess_smartypants - 

    Oh, and yeah, I suppose laceweight really is just for lace. Nothing wrong with a shawl.

  • Yeah, I put your contract in the mail today.  Shall I just send the paypal payment to your aol address?  I'm my own webmaster (ha) -- that's why the google analytics code isn't up yet.  Still trying to figure out where to put it.

  • @princess_smartypants - Received the payment, for which many thanks, and I'll watch for the contract. As for the Analytics, I will email you about that and we'll get it set up. It's worth the trouble.

  • @lostarts - I'm fibermom at Ravelry too. Not very active, though. I just read, mostly.

  • I think people are intimidate by lace weight because it is so fine. But when you are knitting lace with it, it goes quickly.

    I'm going to knit some art with it, if I can wrap my head around it in time.

    I'll think on it and see if I can remember other projects. Why couldn't you knit a lace-weight cardigan? Do you have Gathering of Lace? Even though they use the term "lace," I'm not sure how many patterns use lace-weight yarn.

  • @alissasorenson - I bought the yarn to make a pretty cardigan from Lacy Little Knits, but when I swatched, it was so goassamer thin that it just wouldn't have the structure of a cardigan. I could certainly make a shawl, but I don't know how often I'd wear it, and I wanted a less epic project. And maybe something less obvious. You understand that, I know. I'm about ready to adjust to the idea of doing a shawl, though.

  • @fibermom - 

    What about a shrug? I have two shrugs, and I wear them all the time in the spring and fall.

  • @alissasorenson - Ah, that's a very nice thought!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories