August 30, 2006

  • We’re looking to hire a clerical assistant at work. Having just gone through a job search (vicariously) with #2 daughter, I was particularly aware of the process. The first thing that struck me was how little time we spent with each application. The ad had listed specific skills, including machines and software the person needed to be able to use, and anyone who didn’t mention that specific set of skills or experience was out right away. Grammatical errors and such — gone. We are, after all, looking for someone highly accurate. The Empress looks for a stable job history, so spotty experience crossed them right off the list.


    This is the right way to do it, of course. The whole point of the applications is to winnow down the field quickly to just a few to interview. In our local job climate, job-hunters aren’t available for long, so there is no time for lollygagging. But I thought about the hours the candidates had probably spent working on their resumes, and the bare minutes we spent reading them, and it seemed a little poignant.


    Later, a customer was talking loudly on his cell phone. People do that all the time, and it doesn’t bother me, but I also cannot help but hear what they say. “He doesn’t understand,” the man was complaining. “He doesn’t believe that bipolar disorder exists. He doesn’t understand that I was so depressed that day that I just couldn’t function at all.” Shortly thereafter, he ended that call and began another. “I hear that you are looking to hire people,” this one started.


    Is he planning to tell his prospective employer that there are days when he just can’t function at all? Probably not.


    The Empress said we need someone without dramas, someone who will join the group smoothly and make things easier. I pointed out that we needed someone who would enjoy sitting in that office and working with the numbers. “They can’t be coming out here and talking to me,” I said forbiddingly.


    You know I was joking. Sort of. The Empress also knew it, but recognized the reference to JJ, our most recent hire. They have been working together at the other store. “She probably has the skills we need,” said The Empress. “I bet she does,” I agreed, “but she’s not discreet enough. She’s too emotional.” We are very glad to have her, and she does a good job, but we were in agreement that she wouldn’t be what we needed for the new position. Nor would she want that position, fortunately. But thinking about it helped clarify for us what we are looking for in a worker.


    So we need someone who can run the machinery and the programs we need them to, and enjoy it, and not require a lot of emotional investment from us. Someone discreet and honest and capable. Someone who will not have to support a family on what we can afford to pay them. Someone who will stay long enough to justify our investment in training them. Where can we find such a paragon?


    That Man intends to hand the candidates a stack of checks and have them prepare and post a deposit. If they can’t do that right off, they will have shown their lack of fitness for the position. The Empress thinks there is a bit of pressure there, but I agree with That Man. I think their eyes ought to light up at the prospect of getting their hands on his ten-key. I could do the task, but my heart would sink at the thought that such a thing would be the center of my work, and it would show. That Man can watch their hands and see if they have that real accountant rhythm, and I will watch their faces for that love of numbers, the appreciation of repetitive tasks, the pleasure in doing everything right.


    It isn’t any easier to be the seeker of an employee than it is to be the seeker of an employer.

Comments (8)

  • “Someone who will not have to support a family on what we can afford to pay them.”

    This doesn’t say much for your business.

  • You need me!

    “This doesn’t say much for your business.” – I think that is a bit quick, don’t you? To me it says, “concerned employer who doesn’t want to have to feel guilty about paying a wage that is unlivable for a family.” Equally it says, “non-corporate employer seeking single person.”

    But let’s face it, minimum wage is in no way livable unless you are single so by saying that, they are not saying they are going to pay you 5.15 and you’d better like it.

  • Actually, we can do a bit better than minimum wage. But let’s face it, we are a bookstore. Not a city law office or something. We offer a pleasant working environment, though. Stimulating conversation, employee discount, nice music, people who truly care about you.  A person could do worse.

  • Wow, I never really thought about the application screening process. I am starting to realize why my DH is having such a hard time finding a job! I’ll try to get more specific thanks to your insights!….Boy do I hate cell phones. I love the convenience of having a cell phone, but I hate the way many people use them. Cell phones are to relay information on the go, in my opinion. If you have something to say, that is urgent enough that it can’t wait until you get home, say it then get off the damn phone. The entire store/restaurant/car does not want to have to listen to your private conversations. It’s even worse when two or three people decide they need to share their lives with someone else on their phones. That’s how it was in Austin around back-to-school time. Constant, continuous, incessant CHATTER. Yuck…..Hope y’all find someone to fill the position!

    RYC: Thanks for the recommendations! I am thoroughly enjoying my Dickens right now, and will probably try to start Lord of the Flies next. Have an awesome day!

  • I think that trying people out after narrowing down is a good idea.

    As a job hunter, I frequently offer to work for up to a day for a prospective employer I like. The deal I offer is that if they like me, they can pay me for that day, and I’ll continue to come in and get paid, or they owe me nothing.

    In the past, this has been a way to make more money, as in “I’ll work for a day, you pay me what you think I’m worth, and if it’s enough, I’ll continue to work for you.” Lately, it’s been a strategy to get a job–any job.

    Everybody who’s taken me up on it offers me more money than they initially thought I was worth.

    I’m hoping the new hearing aids will help me get and keep a job. The statistics on the incidence of unemployment for people with my degree of hearing loss are discouraging.

  • RYC: Precisely why I wrote that particular post a while ago addressing the issue of the nature of my infatuation(s). Now, the “sting of culpability” I mentioned in this recent post is precisely because, in that situation, I felt my conduct was sexist. However, in general, I am very conscious about my infatuation(s). And I know how easily it can be seen as sexism by others, which it has been on many occasions, thus prompting me to make that first post. I really feel there is a distinction between my admiration and the sexist kind of admiration, so I try hard to make this clear to people, but alas, either it is harder and more complicated than that or I am simply deluded about it. Either way, my intentions remain the same. Keep it copasetic.

  • emotional investment is the real key isn’t it?…

  • I think you are far more likely to get someone who can actually do the job the way you all seem to be going about the selection business. Too often people simply go on the CV (resume) which can of course be a parcel of lies for all anyone knows. And then they wonder why they end up with a deadbeat working for them. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *