May 26, 2005

  • Yesterday was unusual in that I heard someone say "Hot damn!" in choir practice for the first time ever.


    The director also announced that we were going to "work on attacks, cutoffs, vowels ... and all the things that make music music." I have forgotten all the things he listed, but they were things this choir used to ignore completely. I am very happy. What's more, the old guard of the choir seem happy, too. And the choir is growing.


    The older gentlemen in the back row continue to talk nonstop. I did whisper to them at one point that the second sopranos couldn't hear their notes, but I don't think they heard me. I'm glad of that. I don't want to spoil the fun, and I shouldn't have fussed at them. But I think the fact that they didn't hear me says something -- I think perhaps they are a bit deaf. Maybe they don't realize that there is music going on while they're talking, Maybe they think they are speaking so softly that no one else can hear them.


    Here is an impressionist toy camera picture of the prayer shawl. It doesn't really matter how the picture is, because it continues to be a large blue rectangle, made apparently of muppet pelts. I am finishing up the second skein. It is measured by holding it between outstretched hands -- when it goes from one hand to the other, it is finished. This is a nice way of measuring.

Comments (8)

  • Mmmm... muppet pelts.

  • Hot damn? Is that a promotion over 'Gee Willigers'?...interesting church experience...

  • A comment on two days ago... I'm a little behind. I can't sew together 30 ties in one sitting. What in my history of projects made you think I could cut one thousand eight hundred gajillion little triangles without cutting a hole in the part of my brain that makes me do interesting things?

    And as for ripped/torn jeans. They suck. You spend your entire day with cold knees which in turn makes them feel numb and you get to look awkward as you stumble around trying to rub some sense back into them. But as I said, I spend most of my day looking pretty and a moment or two of awkwardness never hurt anyone.

  • Muppet pelts?! That's just cruel! You would kill muppets just to make a shawl?! :*(  Keep it copasetic. Peace.

  • Perhaps you should include a disclaimer with the shawl: "No muppets were harmed in the making of this shawl." ;)

    Thanks so much for helping me with the sewn bind off. It makes much more sense the way you explained it. I told you you should write a knitting book!

    As for that quiz, I didn't think the questions slanted one way or the other so much as they were just...bad. Some were too black and white, but others just had no right answer.

  • I like the idea of the disclaimer about "no muppets harmed for the making of this shawl." If it was me, I'd probaly add some googly eyes (at least temporarily) to see if anybody commented.

    Those torn jeans can have a nice, new life as woven placemats. That's what I plan to do with mine after I finish my "T-Shirt and Jeans" Quilt. The placemats end up being quite sturdy and can be made on a loom fashioned out of 1"x2"'s and some nails. A friend in my Weaving Guild showed me how to do it. It's actually pretty cool. Let me know if you're interested and I'll see if I can dig up her instructions.

  • I've heard of all sorts of things, but muppet pelts is a new one!!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories