May 25, 2005

  • Work, for me, often involves close interaction with boxes and ladders, so it is nothing unusual for me to notice at some point during the day that I am covered with dirt. Yesterday, since I was going out in the evening, I had a mild flash of irritation at the fact. It also brought the destroyed jeans phenomenon back to my mind, and I mused on it while labelling books.


    I think I have it figured out. We had been thinking, why pay eighty bucks for something that is already worn out? Reflecting on this naturally brought to mind #2 son, whose jeans are so frequently in a destroyed state. This is because he walks, cycles, skates, trampolines, does gymnastics and rockclimbing, gardens, climbs fences, and also does whatever it is that gives him jagged wounds which he dismisses with “Oh, I don’t remember how that happened.”


    The wearers of pre-destroyed jeans may spend their time in front of the TV, eating Funyums and watching reruns of “Whose Line Is It Anyway,” but their jeans will say that they revel in extreme sports, saving dolphins, fighting evil — something, in short, more exciting than what they really do. That could be worth $80. I think the authentic adventure is worth a lot more, but you know how opinionated I am.


    #2 son’s packet of Summer Institute papers arrived. He will be spending three weeks on the campus of the local university, studying architecture. He has chosen his service project, planting flowers and landscaping in local parks. #1 son has applied for a summer job at the local nursery. I am glad to see a love for growing things in them.


    I have finished cutting the quilt. #2 daughter got tired of it early on, and I did the majority of it, so the level of accuracy may not be what it should be. I also do not have all 1,260 triangles required. I have enough for 32 blocks, not 35. I may be able to find a fabric that will meld, if not match, or I may just make it smaller than the pattern calls for. It is good to have that element of suspense when beginning a project, isn’t it? Well, maybe not. Certainty that all the little packets of triangles, some of which I present to you on the left, will actually become a beautiful quilt, might be better. However, I have made a number of beautiful quilts, and most of them have had a greater suspense factor than this one, so I am not worrying.

Comments (2)

  • LOL, about the pre-destroyed jeans. I can’t believe the price they charge for them.  It must be because they have to pay someone to make all the holes, bleached out areas, frayed edges and patches on them. Some of the jeans look like they have someone beating the material over a rock somewhere to get holes in them and then they sew them back up!  Go figure! I took a friend to Old Navy, who was in desperate need of some new/old clothing, yesterday. I wasn’t supposed to be buying anything, just assisting in smart style selections and the avoidance of fashion foupaus (sp).  So while rummaging around in the store we come across a couple of racks of the rip torn variety trying to mimick the moons surface.  At first I scoffed.  Then I became intranced by all the craters and valleys and variances in shades of white, blue and gray.  The stitching almost looked like the tacks left behind by the lunar module and one of its space probes.  Then I touched them, they were really soft like charmin.  LOL.  I decided to try them on to see what they were even like.  I just knew I would look like a clown.  But in the dressing room the strangest thing happened.  The jeans were really comfortable and all the details were in just the right places.  The waist was lower than I was used to and the legs flared out a bit but over all I was impressed.  Then I looked at the price tag,  FOURTY FIVE DOLLARS!  Needless to say the jeans that I am now in love with are still on the rack and I will go visit them every now and then to see when they go on sale so I can get them at I think is a pre-destroyed price.  Got my friend squared away who is in no way interested in the ho bo look (as he calls it) and walked away with two sensible vintage fit (?) t shirts and some sleeveless sport shirts.  Both on special at 2 for 10 dollars.  Cha Ching!  4 shirts for about half of what if would have cost for those jeans. Smart shoppers, can I get a round of applause.  : ) 

  • Best explanation of the attraction of holey jeans I’ve yet come across

    Oh by the way, to both Fibermom and Dweezy, over here in NZ those jeans would be closer to $100. (Ironic, in the old days, ie when I was a kid, my mother wouldn’t allow us to wear jeans. She considered jeans to be a sign of poverty and she didn’t want her kids going around looking like paupers. We had to wait until we were out working and had our own money before we could get jeans. My first pay at 17 was also my first pair of jeans.)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *