April 25, 2005

  • The design emerges.


    And here is the back.


    I have seen, on the blogs, people with many ends to weave in on their intarsia designs. I don't know why they do that. The single thread visible in this picture is the working yarn snaking down the piece. I never cut it; I just pick it up when I need it.  This is how I have always done colorwork, so I don't know what the other methods are trying to accomplish, but I know that this method works just fine.


    So this weekend, in addition to knitting, I weeded the garden, cleaned the house, did the laundry, baked, bought strawberry netting, and wrestled with the quilt. I am feeling back on track.


    I also went to the Newcomer's Luncheon with the Methodists, where the pastor told me that she didn't think of me as a newcomer. "You just belong here," she said. Which made me feel very welcome. Asked directly, I admitted to Presbyterianism. She mentioned Predestination as the major theological difference, but then it was time to get in line for the luncheon.


    An elegant older lady who is in my Sunday School class was telling how she was instrumental in starting the Prayer Shawl Ministry at the church. It struck her as a good idea, but she did not herself knit. Now, a year later, she is beginning her second prayer shawl. She frogs more than she knits, apparently. However, a shawl that takes almost a year to knit -- assuming that she prays the whole time she knits -- will be so filled with love and caring that it might have healing powers. SUPERshawl! I am joining the Prayer Shawl group, although I work during their meetings. They assure me that I can knit at home and it will still count.


    As to the quilt...
    Bouthdi: 
    how's it coming?
    CHOMPHOSY: 
    as I do one piece, the others come off the fabric
    CHOMPHOSY: 
    and tear themselves up
    CHOMPHOSY: 
    while the quilt responds with evil laughter
    Bouthdi: 
    what piece are you supposed to do?
    Bouthdi: 
    or rather
    CHOMPHOSY: 
    like BWAH hahahaha
    Bouthdi: 
    what are you supposed to do with it?
    CHOMPHOSY:  cut the windows out and sew fabric into the holes
    CHOMPHOSY: 
    but the the framework is coming apart
    CHOMPHOSY:  so i don't know what I will do
    Bouthdi: 
    that sounds un-simple
    Bouthdi: 
    sew fabric into the bits?
    CHOMPHOSY:  you make holes
    Bouthdi: 
    I caught that
    CHOMPHOSY: 
    and put cloth behind them
    CHOMPHOSY:  like glass into a window
    CHOMPHOSY: 
    and then sew it in
    Bouthdi: 
    sew it in?
    CHOMPHOSY: 
    in a deeply uncomfortable position
    Bouthdi: 
    like applique?
    CHOMPHOSY: 
    in order not to tear any more of the framework
    CHOMPHOSY: 
    yes
    CHOMPHOSY: 
    like backwards applique
    Bouthdi: 
    that's weird
    CHOMPHOSY: 
    the whole technique is insane
    Bouthdi:  oh
    Bouthdi: 
    oh I see
    Bouthdi: 
    that is trouble
    Bouthdi:  Matt62842003<!-- (6:12:24 PM)-->: oh yeah, well I had something pop into my mind. It was extreme
    Bouthdi<!-- (6:12:53 PM)-->: an extreme thought? or the jarring popping action.
    Matt62842003<!-- (6:13:01 PM)-->: jpa
    Matt62842003<!-- (6:13:17 PM)-->: I get rushes of extreme jpa all the time
    Bouthdi:  ok
    Bouthdi:  love you
    Bouthdi is away at 6:46 PM


    So did Bouthdi suddenly run off to rescue Matt+manynumbers from his attack of jpa? We may never know. But that encapsulates the state of the quilt.

Comments (2)

  • Are they knitting intarsia in the round? Because I have heard of people doing that, and weaving in all those ends. Crazy, I know.

  • It looks like an antelope head.

    I like the idea of SUPERshawls, though I think I can't manage to knit at work.

    Also, Matt+manynumbers was in no way in need of rescue. We lead our entirely polar-opposite lives, and chat in the evenings when we have time. What prolly was in need of saving was the journal worth 20% of my grade... that had it's due date extended two days on the day it was due. And we didn't get EC for having it done on time. And I was angry.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories